News

Gravatar
Pin on Pinterest
Loco peppers, Tom Motley Urban Gardens

Fireflies in the Gardens                                                                 by Tom Motley

Our May gardens’ enthusiastic production of lettuces, spinach, rainbow chard, and sweet peppers provide us with multiple choices to enhance every meal. The basil is young and sweet, perfect for pesto. Pineapple sage is not in bloom yet, of course, but the leaves have ample flavor to turn any pork tenderloin into a memorable experience. The chocolate mint adds intense and natural surprises to any cake or brownie. Florentine fennel and rocket arugula will remain micro-sized for a bit longer, but the flavor of each is superb right now.

Recently, as we sat through a splendid sunset in the gardens with friends, we also enjoyed a current bumper crop of fireflies, courtesy of tall grasses and plants. Most of us have vivid childhood memories of fireflies. I’ve been painting fireflies for many years now, and I’ve talked with lots of clients and gallery visitors about those memories. Everyone has a firefly story about these magical creatures that put smiles on the faces of young and old alike. Children collected them in fruit jars with holes punched in the tin lid or just held them gently in hand and watched their light through the gaps between small fingers. We called them lightening bugs when I was a kid.